艺术展览系列

线条洒脱,色彩鲜艳:20世纪早期的湘绣

2011年,雅礼协会展出了来自20世纪早期中国湖南省的湘绣和珠宝。湘绣以其繁复美丽、用色活泼、手工精致而享誉中外。

此次展览承Sally Edwards, Jeanie Barnard和Dave Barnard慷慨相助。他们的祖父James W. Williams(耶鲁学院1908届毕业生)于1916年8月来到中国,先在南京语言学校学习中文,后在雅礼协会的组织下来到中国中南部的湖南省长沙市教授生物。

湘绣是中国四大名绣之一,起源于湖南省。与湖南的民间艺术一样,湘绣线条洒脱,色彩鲜艳,一般用彩色丝线在真丝、硬缎、软缎、尼龙等素材上织就。

其他艺术相册

飘洋过海的中国遗珍

画家Michael Sloan

Foothills Photography Exhibit


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Art Exhibit Series

Loose Threads, Rich Colors: Xiang Embroidery from Early 20th Century China

The Yale-China Association presented an exhibit in 2011 featuring current and historic examples of fine embroidery and jewelry from Hunan. Xiang embroidery has long been prized for its beauty, intricacy, vibrant colors, and the extraordinary quality of craftsmanship.

The exhibit was made possible by Sally Edwards, Jeanie Barnard, and Dave Barnard—the grandchildren of James W. Williams (Yale College 1908), who sailed to China in August 1916. He spent one year in language study at the Nanking Language School and five years teaching biology with Yale-China in Changsha, Hunan in south central China.

Xiang embroidery is considered one of the four great embroidery styles of China. It originated in the Hunan province of China. Xiang embroidery is akin to folk art with its loose threads and rich colors. It uses pure silk, hard satin, soft satin and nylon as its material with colorful silk threads.

Other Arts Slideshows

Precious Driftwood

Michael Sloan

Foothills Photography Exhibit


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap