现场报道——2011年休宁服务与文化交流项目

2011年休宁服务与文化交流项目的参加者分享了以下感受体会:

“这是一次美好的旅行。我以前没去过中国;这次旅行远离旅游闹市,除了观光,还做了些有趣的事。通过这次休宁之行,我对中国有了更多的了解;和其他参加者一起交流旅行感受,也比一个人旅行的收获更大。”

这是耶鲁校友服务团的安徽休宁之行参加者Ruth Karras的感想,也道出了在休宁教学一周的180名参加者的心声。这次活动由雅礼协会、耶鲁校友服务团与耶鲁校友协会共同组织,精心准备了一年后隆重推出。

志愿者们在五天的教学活动中分成教育、艺术、运动、商业、医学与建筑等小组,进行服务与交流活动。商业组 成员Melissa Belman说:“我荣幸与一群聪明优秀的人同为一组。我建议耶鲁管院的Alderfer和Berg在他们大名鼎鼎的GRO课上用我们组来做‘ 高功能团队行为’的范例……另一个有意思的事是我把在耶鲁管院当助教时教的战略课程变成一堂关于产品差异化的黑板板书课。学生很快就学会了,我非常荣幸和这些聪明的孩子在一起。”

所有活动均由志愿者计划并实行,并有当地学生与医务人员共同加入。活动分设四个地点:休宁中学、海阳二中、海阳小学与休宁人民医院。最后的联欢演出把活动推到最高潮,学生们展出了他们在一周活动中取得的学习成果,组织者也向学校与当地政府赠送了礼物。

参加者除了180名志愿者与五名雅礼协会工作人员,还有十位正在当地教学的雅礼教员,他们作为这个项目的协调员,做了大量工作。更值得一提的是六十多位业已毕业的休中校友主动回到学校,义务担任翻译与教室助手。他们中的很多人是以前的雅礼教员的学生。耶鲁校友服务团的成员高度赞扬这些休中校友,Kathryn Katz 说:“这些高中生志愿者太棒了,如果没有他们的帮助,难以想象我们该怎样在教室里开展活动——他们既翻译有关概念,又向我们解释学生的需求。”

“这次旅行的收获出乎我的意料之外,”Michael Rebell说。“我非常同意活动的长远影响之一是认识了那些学生助手。……我已和Margaret(休中校友志愿者之一)开始email联系,希望以后能一直保持。”

雅礼协会感谢所有活动地点的组织管理人员,感谢休宁县政府,尤其是休宁县长田雨润,谢谢你们支持、帮助安排与组织这次活动。雅礼协会将会继续通过休宁中学与休宁县保持联系,用James R. Lilley 纪念基金继续发展休宁教学基地。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

From the Field – Xiuning Service and Cultural Exchange Program 2011

Participants in the 2011 Xiuning Service and Cultural Exchange Program share their experiences.

“This was a fabulous trip. I had never been to China before, and it was a wonderful way to do it, being somewhere away from the main tourist areas, and having something absorbing to do besides sightseeing.  I feel I got a much greater understanding of China through the Xiuning experience and talking to the other participants about theirs than I would have had I just been on my own.“

These reflections from Ruth Karras, a participant in the Yale Alumni Service Corps trip to Xiuning County, Anhui province, China, reflect the feelings of many of the 180 volunteers who spent a week working and teaching in Xiuning. The trip was the culmination of a year of planning and partnership between Yale-China, the Yale Alumni Service Corps, and the Association of Yale Alumni.

Volunteers took part in service and exchange activities in the areas of education, the arts, athletics, business, medicine, and construction over the five-day teaching and work period. Melissa Belman, a participant in the business group, said, “I had the good fortune to work with an extraordinarily talented team; indeed, I am confident that SOM’s Alderfer and Berg might very well have used our team as a model of “highly functional group behavior” in their famous GRO course.…It was also great fun for me to transform my SOM TA strategy curriculum into a blackboard lesson on product differentiation.   When I saw that our students “got it” immediately, I felt so honored to be surrounded by such exceptional teens.”

All projects were planned and executed by volunteers and involved local students and medical professionals at four sites – Xiuning Middle School, Haiyang #2 Middle School, Haiyang Primary School, and Xiuning County People’s Hospital. The trip culminated in a final performance featuring the accomplishments of students during the week of project work and presentation of gifts to schools and local officials.

In addition to the 180 volunteers and five Yale-China staff members, ten current or former Yale-China Teaching Fellows joined the group as project facilitators for the week, and over sixty alumni of Xiuning Middle School returned to serve as translators and classroom assistants. Many of these returning alumni were former students of the Yale-China Teaching Fellows at Xiuning Middle School, who drew praise from YASC members. Kathryn Katz notes, “The high school volunteers were wonderful and I truly wonder how we would have done in the classrooms without their assistance--both with the translation of concepts but in educating us to the needs of the students.”

“This trip really turned out to be more than I expected, “ said Michael Rebell. “I very much agree that one of the lasting highlights was getting to know the student assistants…I've already commenced an e-mail exchange with [Xiuning Middle School alumni volunteer] Margaret and I hope to maintain contact with her in the future.”

The Yale-China Association thanks the administrations of all project sites and the Xiuning County government, especially County Head Tian Yurun, for their help and support in arranging and organizing this project. Yale-China will continue to remain involved with Xiuning County through its work at Xiuning Middle School and through continued development of the Xiuning Teaching Fellowship site through the James R. Lilley Memorial Fund.


© 2012-2016 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap