雅礼协会教学项目

雅礼教员项目概览

雅礼教员项目是雅礼协会历史最悠久的项目,1909年作为“本科生”项目推出,将耶鲁本科毕业生派往雅礼中学当英语教员。该项目历经中美两国的几度变化,发展至今,已在中国拥有四个教学点,并在美国拥有一个教学点。这些教学点不仅是参与教学的雅礼教员的工作基础,更是雅礼协会整个教育项目的精华所在。

跨越洲界与年代的团体

雅礼教员项目的两大支柱内容是教学与社区服务:教学是雅礼教员在中国的基本职责,也是个人发展的极好机会;社区服务则建立教员与当地人的个人联系,这种人与人的联系是达到最大的理解与尊重的最好的渠道。这两项内容的重点与平衡随着历史的发展有所变迁,但一直作为雅礼教员项目的核心理念,从1909年第一批“本科生”飞越太平洋起至今不变。

雅礼教员来自世界各地,背景、兴趣、事业、性格丰富多样。近日,一些热心的雅礼教员建立起雅礼社,努力把历届雅礼教员、他们教过的学生以及雅礼协会重新联系在一起。更多详情 >

雅礼英语教员

雅礼协会从耶鲁应届或最近五年的毕业生中择优录为教员,送往中国。雅礼教员按派驻学校的不同情况与要求教授英语课程,并在文化交流、创造性、批判性思考、社区服务等方面做出贡献,后者的重要性与前者相等甚至更大。更多详情 >

雅礼中文教员

在雅礼协会从耶鲁选派教员送往中国的传统持续一百多年后,我们终于填补上了教员项目缺失的另一半:从2013年起,我们也从中国选派教员来美国任教。该项目目前处于试点运行中,两位中国教员被安置于纽黑文公立学校系统中交流。我们的长远目标是在美国建立多个教学点,并从雅礼的中国教学点中挑选近期毕业生作为教员。更多详情 >


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Yale-China Fellowship

Overview

The Yale-China Fellowship is the longest continuously-run program at Yale-China and is the flagship program of Yale-China's education program area. Originally founded as the "Bachelor" program in 1909 to provide teachers for Yali Middle School, the program has evolved through the decades to meet changing needs in China and in the United States; today the fellowship consists of four sites in China and one site in the United States. The partnerships with these sites form the basis not only of the fellowship, but of the entire education program portfolio.

A Community Spanning Continents and Generations

The two pillars of the fellowship are teaching and community engagement: teaching provides Fellows with a defined role in a Chinese community and is an extraordinary opportunity for personal growth, while community engagement builds the person-to-person connections that lead to the deepest possible levels of mutual understanding and respect. Though the balance and framing of these two elements have shifted over the past century, they have been at the heart of the fellowship spirit ever since the first Bachelors sailed across the Pacific in 1909.

Yale-China Fellows represent a diverse range of backgrounds, interests, careers, and personalities. Recently, leaders within this community of program alumni have started working to re-connect past Fellows to each other, to their students, and to Yale-China. Their work has grown into the Yali Society. Read more >

Yale (English) Fellows

The Fellows Yale-China sends to China are selected from a pool of outstanding graduating seniors and recent graduates of Yale University. While Fellows do still engage in English instruction in various forms appropriate to their sites, the contributions they make to their host communities in the areas of cultural exchange, creativity, critical thinking, and community service are seen to be of equal or greater importance when compared to their work in the classroom. Read more >

Chinese (Mandarin) Fellows

After more than a century of sending Fellows from Yale to China, the Yale-China Association was thrilled to begin building the missing half of the fellowship in 2013 by sending the inaugural Yale-China Fellows from China to the United States. Currently running as a pilot with two Fellows in the New Haven public school system, the long-term vision for the fellowship is to establish multiple sites in the United States for recent college graduates from our Chinese partner institutions. Read more >


© 2012 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple Street | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | Phone: 203-432-0884 | Fax: 203-432-7246 | E-mail: yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap