历史沿革

雅礼协会与新亚书院合作60周年

2013年6月2日到3日,雅礼协会庆祝与香港中文大学新亚书院合作60周年,在香港中环举办了历史展览、募捐晚会及耶鲁大学合唱团音乐会。

History Slideshows

雅礼协会与新亚书院合作60周年

雅礼历史图片,1901-1949

雅礼历史图片,1950年-至今

 

雅礼协会的历史发展与名称由来

雅礼协会建立伊始是耶鲁外国传教团(Yale Foreign Missionary Society)的一个组成部分。1913年之前,人们非正式地将雅礼协会称为“中国耶鲁”。从一开始,雅礼协会就是一个无派别的宗教组织。到了上个世纪二十年代,雅礼协会已经不再公开宣传自身为纯粹传教团体。1934年,雅礼协会重组为世俗组织,并于1975年正式采用“雅礼协会”这一名称。

1901 - 1951

雅礼协会是19世纪末美国大学本科校园的宗教热情的产物。雅礼协会由一些耶鲁毕业生和教职员工成立于1901年,是耶鲁外国传教团的一部分。开创者致力于在海外传播基督教,建立基督教的海外基础。他们选择中国开展事业的部分原因,是要向1892届耶鲁毕业生贺拉斯•特雷西•比特金致敬,他曾经在中国传教并于1900年死于义和团事件。他们选择湖南省长沙市作为运行基地,是与其他传教团体商讨的结果。

在纽黑文办公室与其他在华传教团体的督促下,雅礼传教团很早就更加注重教育事业发展而非福音事业。1905年胡美博士到达长沙,医学教育与服务成为雅礼事业的核心。胡美博士创建的诊所最终产生了一所预备学校雅礼中学、雅礼大学(之后迁至武汉,并合并了其他两所教会学校,成立华中大学)、湘雅医学院、护理学院及湘雅医院。多年后,湘雅(其中的“湘”字代表湖南、“雅”字代表雅礼协会)因其能够在华中和华南地区提供最先进的西医培训而享誉全国。与其他外资创办的机构不同的地方在于,湘雅从一开始就致力于尽可能多地培养中国教职员工和管理者。上个世纪二十年代末期,湘雅所开设的所有专业的领导职位都由中国人担任,“中国耶鲁”在中国已经成为一项中美合作事业了。

抗日战争期间(1937-1945),耶鲁在中国相关机构在华活动受到严重限制。 因为战争导致病患和难民人数剧增 ,故而湘雅医院所面临的情况最为严峻。随着中国国民党部队向西南地区撤退,雅礼相关机构也随之南下或西迁,以避开日本侵略军。1938年7月,华中大学迁至桂林,但持续不断的炮火袭击令华中大学不得不于次年迁至中国边陲的云南大理喜洲。1938年9月,雅礼中学迁至湘西沅陵;10月,医学院和护理学院迁至贵州贵阳。

雅礼的战时历程十分艰苦,位于长沙的很多校舍设施毁于日本侵略者之手。然而,这些挑战反而激起了中美双方教职员工和管理者的投入新事业的决心。1945年9月,雅礼职员回到长沙,立志重建校园,重新开创他们的战前事业。然而,4年后,国共内战结束,国民党政府倒台,中美双方关系日益紧张,雅礼的未来显得非常不确定。

1951年,新中国政府没收了雅礼的长沙资产,改雅礼中学为解放中学。Dwight Rugh博士,中国耶鲁在长沙的最后一名代表,因为是校园内的惟一美国人而在囚禁中度过了几乎整个1950年,并最终于1951年5月被驱逐出境。从此开始,纽黑文的雅礼与其创办的长沙、武汉机构之间的联系差不多整整中断了30年。

1951-1979

1951年至1954年之间,大陆反美情绪高涨,国民党治下台湾动乱不安,雅礼在华事业不得不暂时搁置。在此期间,雅礼将大部分精力和资源用来资助在美中国学生,同时密切注意亚洲值得支持的新项目和新机会。很快,他们找到了位于英国殖民地香港的一所为难民开设的本科学院。这所学院由钱穆(1895-1990)及一些中国知识分子创建,他们立志在大陆风云际会之时保存传统中国文化和价值。1954年初,在访问香港并经数月谈判之后,雅礼与新亚书院建立了正式联系。

与在长沙的工作不同,雅礼与新亚书院的关系从一开始就设计为前者帮助、协助而非直接管理后者。雅礼从福特基金会和其他美国基金会获得资金帮助,用来支持新亚书院的发展,同时为新亚书院教师提供奖学金来美学习。1956年,雅礼重启英语教师项目,每年派两名耶鲁毕业生赴新亚书院——而不再是雅礼中学——教授英语。

上个世纪五十年代末期,香港人开始探索建设一所中文教学大学的可能性。1959年,英国大学委员会(the Council of British Universities)选择了新亚书院、联合书院以及崇基书院,联合创建了香港中文大学。香港中文大学于1963年在沙田校区正式开学。雅礼多方筹措资金,建设了许多校园楼宇,包括大学保健医疗中心,雅礼宾馆,会友楼以及新亚书院学生宿舍。雅礼还对整个校园的早期国际化贡献卓著,协助建设了雅礼中国语文研究中心和国际亚洲研究项目,每年都录取数以百计的国际学生。同时,雅礼协会(于1975年重命名)在新亚书院开设了代表处,在长达50年的时间里都与新亚书院之间保持了密切的联系。

1979-Present

至20世纪70年代末,新亚书院和香港中文大学在组织机构和财政方面都逐渐走向稳定和成熟,也逐步降低了它对雅礼协会资助的依赖性。与此同时,中美两国外交关系正常化也为雅礼协会重返中国内陆提供了契机。1979年秋,雅礼协会工作人员亲赴长沙,访问了前身是湘雅的湖南医学院,同其管理和教学人员讨论了开展教育交流的可能性。协议的达成促成了1980年九月雅礼协会英语教员的到来,以及湖南医学院和耶鲁大学之间医务人员的交流。同年,两名英语教员也被派往武汉大学。这项交流继而扩大到华中师范大学。

短短几十年的社会历史变迁未能使沧海变为桑田,然而已足以为中国高等教育以及雅礼协会带来深刻的变化。中国的政治敏感和雅礼协会自身的发展演变都决定了双方合作的性质将大大不同于1949年前。雅礼协会不再寻求恢复对原属机构的管理,而将工作重心转移到医学及美国研究方面的短期教育交流,同时恢复在中国的英语教学项目。80年代,雅礼协会的医学项目向中国派送了逾40名美国专家,同时近50名中国医务人员也前往美国进行交流。同期,将近100名耶鲁毕业生参与了雅礼协会在中国的英语教学项目。雅礼协会也继续向香港中文大学派送英语教师,并同其国际亚洲研究项目保持密切的合作关系。

90年代间,雅礼协会将工作拓展到香港、长沙和武汉这些传统的活动地点之外。英语教学项目得到延续,又开展了环保教育和儿童心血管疾病的项目,还促成了纽黑文Long Wharf剧院和上海人民艺术剧院1994年的合作,成功把华裔女作家谭恩美的小说《喜福会》的中文版搬上了舞台。与此同时,雅礼协会的其它项目也得到了进一步发展,其中包括美国研究、法学、公共卫生、护理,以及中美学生在非营利组织的实习项目。欲了解这些项目的具体信息,请查阅本网站“雅礼协会项目”一栏。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Yale-China History

60 Years with New Asia

Yale-China kicked off the celebrations in honor of 60 years of partnership with New Asia College on June 2 and 3, 2013. Festivities included a historical exhibit in Exchange Square, a benefit gala, and a performance by the Yale Glee Club that included the premiere of a song, commissioned by Yale-China, dedicated to New Asia College.

History Slideshows

60 Years with New Asia

Yale-China History 1901-1949

Yale-China History 1950-Today

 

Changing Times, Changing Names

The Yale-China Association was first incorporated as the Yale Foreign Missionary Society, and was known informally as Yale-in-China as early as 1913. It was nondenominational from its beginnings and by the 1920's had ceased to be an overtly missionary enterprise. It was re-incorporated in 1934 as a secular organization, the Yale-in-China Association, and in 1975 as the Yale-China Association.

1901 - 1951

A reflection of the religious fervor sweeping American college campuses at the end of the 19th century, Yale-China was founded in 1901 as the Yale Foreign Missionary Society by a group of Yale graduates and faculty members committed to establishing a Christian missionary presence overseas. The founders chose China as the focus of their work, in part to honor the memory of a Yale graduate from the class of 1892, Horace Tracy Pitkin, who had worked in China as a missionary and died in 1900 during the Boxer Rebellion. The city of Changsha in Hunan Province was chosen as the base of operations in China after consultation with other foreign missionaries.

At the urging of the home office in New Haven as well as other missionaries in China, the Yale Mission early on assumed more of an educational than evangelical function. With the arrival of Dr. Edward Hume in 1905, medical education and care became a major focus of the endeavor. The educational compound that began with Dr. Hume's medical clinic eventually grew to comprise a preparatory school, the Yali Middle School; the College of Yale-in-China (later moved to Wuhan, where it joined two other missionary colleges to form Huachung University); and the Hsiang-Ya Medical College, Nursing School and Hospital. Over the years, Hsiang-Ya (a compound of hsiang, denoting Hunan, and ya, denoting Yale-China; transliterated today as Xiangya) developed a reputation for providing the most advanced training in Western medicine in all of central and southern China. More than at other foreign-affiliated institutions, an effort was made early on to bring as many Chinese faculty and administrators on board as possible. By the late 1920's, all major leadership positions were held by Chinese, and Yale-in-China was very much a joint Sino-American enterprise.

The war years (1937-45) placed enormous strains on the Yale-in-China institutions, especially the Hsiang-Ya Hospital, which cared for the seemingly limitless war casualties and refugees. As the Chinese Nationalist armies retreated towards the southwest, these institutions followed to escape the advancing Japanese. In July of 1938, Huachung University moved to Guilin, but bombing raids there forced it to move to Xizhou in the remote reaches of Yunnan province the following year. Yali Middle School moved to Yuanling in western Hunan in September of 1938 and the medical college and nursing school moved to Guiyang, in Guizhou, the following month.

Yale-in-China's wartime experiences were difficult, and many of the Changsha facilities were damaged by invading Japanese troops. Nevertheless, these challenges served to inspire renewed commitment on the part of both American and Chinese faculty and administrators. The Yale-in-China staff who returned to Changsha in September of 1945 were determined to rebuild the campus and resume their pre-war operations. Within four years, however, a Communist insurgency toppled the Nationalist government and Yale-in-China's future seemed uncertain in the face of growing hostility between the United States and China.

By 1951, the new Communist government had taken possession of Yale-in-China's Changsha properties and renamed the Yali Middle School as "Liberation Middle School." Dr. Dwight Rugh, Yale-in-China's last representative in Changsha, spent most of 1950 under house arrest as the only American on campus, and was eventually expelled from China in May of 1951. With his departure, the ties between Yale-in-China in New Haven and the institutions in Changsha and Wuhan were broken for nearly 30 years.

1951-1979

Between 1951 and 1954, hostility against the United States on the mainland and turmoil on Nationalist-held Taiwan led to a suspension of Yale-in-China’s work within China. During those years, Yale-in-China devoted its resources to financing the education of Chinese students in the U.S. while looking in Asia for new projects to support. Attention soon focused on a refugee college in the British colony of Hong Kong which had been founded by Ch’ien Mu (1895-1990) and other Chinese intellectuals determined to preserve traditional Chinese learning and values in the face of the Communist victory on the mainland. In early 1954, after a visit to the colony and months of negotiations, Yale-in-China’s trustees formally affiliated the organization with New Asia College.



Unlike in Changsha, Yale-in-China’s relationship with New Asia College was, by intention, one of support and assistance rather than direct administration. Yale-in-China secured funding from the Ford Foundation and other U.S. foundations to support the development of the college, and also provided fellowships for New Asia faculty to pursue further study in the United States. In 1956, Yale-in-China resumed the practice of sending two recent Yale graduates each year to teach English, though now to New Asia College instead of Yali Middle School.



In the late 1950s, the possibility of founding a university in Hong Kong that would use Chinese as the medium of instruction was explored. In 1959, the Council of British Universities selected New Asia, United and Chung Chi colleges to federate and form the new Chinese University of Hong Kong, which was formally inaugurated in 1963 on its Shatin campus. Yale-in-China contributed to the new campus by securing funds to construct numerous buildings, including the university health clinic, the Yali Guest House, Friendship Lodge and a student dormitory at New Asia College. Yale-in-China also contributed to the early internationalization of the campus by helping to establish the New Asia—Yale-in-China Chinese Language Centre and the International Asian Studies Program, which now enroll hundreds of international students every year. Meanwhile, the relationship with New Asia College, where the Yale-China Association (as the organization was renamed in 1975) has maintained a representative office for fifty years, remains a strong one.

1979-Present

By the 1970s, both New Asia College and the Chinese University of Hong Kong had achieved a level of institutional maturity and financial stability that decreased the need for Yale-China's contributions. At the same time, the normalization of diplomatic relations between the U.S. and China presented the possibility of resumed activity on the mainland. In the fall of 1979, Yale-China staff traveled to Changsha to explore opportunities for academic exchange with administrators and faculty at Hunan Medical College, the successor to Hsiang-Ya, and several exchange agreements were concluded that led to the arrival of Yale-China English teachers in September of 1980 and exchanges of medical personnel between Yale University and Hunan Medical College. Two English instructors were also sent to Wuhan University the same year and later to Huazhong Normal University.

Despite the geographical continuities, however, the intervening years had brought substantial changes to Chinese higher education and within Yale-China itself. Political sensitivities in China and Yale-China's own evolution determined that any new activity in China would be of a nature substantially different from that of the pre-1949 years. Rather than seeking to resume the joint administration of the former Yale-in-China institutions, the emphasis was placed on shorter-term academic exchanges in the fields of medicine and American Studies and a resumption of the English language instruction program. Throughout the 1980s, Yale-China's medical program brought almost 50 Chinese medical personnel to the U.S. and sent over 40 Americans to China for exchanges of medical knowledge. During the same years, nearly 100 Yale graduates participated in Yale-China's English teaching program in China. Yale-China also continued to send English teachers to the Chinese University of Hong Kong and maintained its involvement with the university's International Asian Studies Program.

The decade of the 1990s brought an expansion of Yale-China's activities into new program areas and affiliations with institutions outside of Yale-China's historical bases in Hong Kong, Changsha and Wuhan. While maintaining its English teaching program, Yale-China initiated projects in environmental protection and pediatric cardiology and facilitated a drama collaboration between New Haven's Long Wharf Theater and the Shanghai People's Art Theater which resulted in a Chinese-language stage production of Amy Tan's The Joy Luck Club in 1994. Other areas of expansion have included the fields of American Studies, legal education, public health, nursing, and service in the non-profit sector for China and American students. Information on current programs appears on the programs section of this website.


© 2012 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple Street | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | Phone: 203-432-0884 | Fax: 203-432-7246 | E-mail: yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap