炉边雅谈:玛迪·裴文坦(Maude Pettus)和琳达·波德娜(Linda Bordner)

Next Event

Tue, April 28, 2015 | 4:00pm-5:30pm
炉边雅谈:玛迪·裴文坦(Maude Pettus)和琳达·波德娜(Linda Bordner)
康乃狄格州纽黑文市庙街442号
邮编:06511

美好的十年:玛迪和温的故事

玛迪·斐文坦(Maude Pettus)
玛迪·斐文坦(Maude Pettus)是1940-1945年期间湘雅医院的护士长。早慧的玛迪在四岁时就向全家宣布,长大后要去中国传教。多年后的一个晚上,当她的丈夫温斯顿·斐文坦(Winston Pettus)博士回家询问她是否愿意去雅礼协会在中国开办的湘雅医院工作时,她脱口而出:“中国!我从四岁起就想去那儿了!” 于是,他们在1940年来到了湖南长沙。在之后的战争岁月里,她和她的丈夫不知疲倦地为中国人民服务,医治走进医院的每一个人,甚至包括一匹马!他们有两个孩子:出生在长沙的Ann和出生在美国的Sarah Louise。温(他的朋友们都这么称呼他)在1945年运送医疗物资去云南的途中遭遇空难,献出了自己的生命。

温去世后,玛迪回到美国。但她一如继往地热爱并关注着中国和雅礼协会。2001年,她和雅礼百年庆典代表团一起去了中国。2012年,她以九十八岁高龄荣获雅礼荣誉奖。2014年10月,玛迪再次和雅礼协会一起回到中国,参加湘雅医学院的百年庆典。这一次,这位百岁老人第一次登上了长城!

玛迪将与大家分享她对长沙战争岁月的回忆、最近去长沙参加湘雅医学院百年庆典的经历以及她和中国解不开的缘分。此外,她还将现场签售《美好的十年》一书。

Click here to RSVP or yale-china@yale.edu or 203-432-0884

什么是炉边雅谈?

雅礼协会定期举办炉边雅谈系列讲座,邀请各界嘉宾讨论与中国相关的话题,并与来自耶鲁及纽黑文地区的听众自由问答交流。 炉边雅谈讲座向公众免费开放,欢迎登记参加。

若无特殊声明,所有讲座将于下午四时半在雅礼协会办公室(纽黑文市庙街442号)举行。

炉边雅谈视频

历次炉边雅谈视频请见雅礼协会的YouTube频道

其他问题

请与罗虹(Magdaline Lawhorn)联系,或致电203-432-0884。

登记参加

请点击此处登记参加。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Fireside Chat Featuring Maude Pettus and Linda Bordner

Next Event

Tue, April 28, 2015 | 4:00pm-5:30pm
Fireside Chat Featuring Maude Pettus and Linda Bordner
442 Temple Street
New Haven, CT 06511

TEN GOOD YEARS: Maudie and Win

Maude Pettus
Maude Pettus as Head Nurse at Hsiang-Ya (Xiangya) Hospital from 1940-45. As a precocious four-year-old, Maude announced to her family that she would one day go to China as a missionary. Years later, when her husband, Dr. Winston Pettus, came home one night and proposed going to China to serve at Hsiang-ya Hospital with the Yale-China Association, Maude’s immediate response was, “China!! I’ve wanted to go there since I was four years old!” After moving to Changsha in Hunan Province in 1940, she and her husband served the Chinese people tirelessly during the war years, treating everyone—and even a horse!—who came to the hospital. They had two children, Ann, born in Changsha, and Sarah Louise, born in the USA. Win, as he was known to his friends, made the ultimate sacrifice, giving his life in 1945 on a flight to Yunnan Province to deliver medical supplies.

After Win’s death, Maude returned to the USA, but maintained her love for and connection to China and Yale-China Association. In 2001, Maude joined the Yale-China Centennial Delegation to China, and in 2012 was honored with the Yale-China Award at the hallowed age of 98. And then in October of 2014, Maude again joined the Yale-China delegation to China to celebrate the 100th Anniversary of the Xiangya School of Medicine. It was at this time—at 100 years old—that Maude first climbed the Great Wall!!

Maude will share reminiscences of her life in Changsha during the war years, her recent trip to Changsha to celebrate the Xiangya School of Medicine’s 100th anniversary, and her connection to China. In addition, copies of the book “Ten Good Years” will be available for purchase and signing by Maude.

Click here to RSVP or yale-china@yale.edu or 203-432-0884

What are Fireside Chats?

The Fireside Chat series brings speakers to Yale-China to share and discuss issues related to China’s heart and hinterland with the Yale and New Haven communities. All Fireside Chats are free and open to the public.

Unless otherwise noted, all talks begin at 4:00 pm and are held in the Yale-China office, 442 Temple Street, New Haven.

Fireside Chat Videos

Fireside Chat videos can be seen on our YouTube channel.

Questions?

Contact Magdaline Lawhorn or call 203-432-0884.

RSVP Here


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap