炉边雅谈:Michael Barrett

Next Event

Thu, February 12, 2015 | 4:00pm-5:30pm Thu, February 12, 2015 - Thu, February 12, 2015
炉边雅谈:Michael Barrett
康州纽黑文市庙街442号
邮编:06511

中国银行业概况

市场概况,宏观思考,外资银行战略与挑战,客户与信用,经验与教训。

Michael L. Barrett

Michael Barrett是通用资本(GE Capital)的执行官,负责该公司装备融资业务的推广、兼并收购和寻求新的业务伙伴。Michael为通用集团服务已长达25年,工作业绩出色,事业不断上升。其中18年里,他先后就职于通用资本的全球金融部门,涉及的业务多种多样。他丰富的金融工作经历里包含在国际领导岗位上任职10年。在此之前,Michael是通用金融(GE Money)中国地区的主席和首席执行官,负责消费者金融服务和银行战略两大块业务。在主管中国之前,Michael是通用资本澳大利亚新西兰区的主管业务拓展的高级副总裁,负责新产品的开发以及和澳大利亚最大的零售商建立战略合作伙伴关系。2000年至2002年间Michael在欧洲,主要负责斯堪的纳维亚和德国区域的市场推广和商业策略,并且领导实现了通用资本全球消费者金融部门对三家欧洲银行的兼并。

在2008年到2009年间,Michael还是美国中国商会理事会的成员,代表在中国开展业务的2800多家美国商户。他曾当过五年的美国商业团体在北京和华盛顿的代言人。从2007年到2011年,他是通用中国金融公司(GE Finance Company China)的主席;从2007年到2010年,他还兼任通用中国技术管理咨询公司的主席。在他任职通用金融中国首席执行官期间,在他的领导下,通用和一家大型中国银行合作推出了自己的消费者金融产品。Michael现在还是德州维斯特莱克市(City of Westlake, Texas)议员,以及维斯特莱克经济发展董事会会员。同时他也是维斯特莱克国际学士特许学院(Westlake Academy IB Charter School)的理事。

Michael拥有密歇根大学的工商管理硕士学位,本科毕业于宾夕法尼亚大学的应用科学工程专业。

点击此处登记参加,或电邮 yale-china@yale.edu,或致电203-432-0884。

什么是炉边雅谈?

雅礼协会定期举办炉边雅谈系列讲座,邀请各界嘉宾讨论与中国相关的话题,并与来自耶鲁及纽黑文地区的听众自由问答交流。 炉边雅谈讲座向公众免费开放,欢迎登记参加。

若无特殊声明,所有讲座将于下午四时半在雅礼协会办公室(纽黑文市Temple街442号)举行。

炉边雅谈视频

历次炉边雅谈视频请见雅礼协会的YouTube频道

其他问题

请与罗虹(Magdaline Lawhorn)联系,或致电203-432-0884。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Fireside Chat featuring Michael Barrett

Next Event

Thu, February 12, 2015 | 4:00pm-5:30pm Thu, February 12, 2015 - Thu, February 12, 2015
Fireside Chat featuring Michael Barrett
442 Temple Street
New Haven, CT 06511

CHINA BANKING: MARKET, FOREIGN BANK STRATEGIES, CONSUMERS & CREDIT, LESSONS LEARNED

Market Overview, Macro Concerns, Foreign Bank Strategy/Challenges, Consumers & Credit, Lessons Learned.

Michael L. Barrett

Michael Barrett is an Executive at GE Capital, responsible for business development, mergers and acquisitions and new relationship development for Capital’s Equipment Finance business. Michael has built a distinguished 25 year record of progressive achievement and advancement within GE, including 18 years within the GE Capital’s diversified global financial services division. Michael’s broad financial services experience includes 10 years of international leadership roles. Previously, Michael served as President and CEO of GE Money China where he led the development and execution of the consumer financial services and banking strategy. Prior to China, Michael was the SVP, Business Development for GE Capital Australia & New Zealand, responsible for leading new product development and strategic partnerships including establishing financial services partnerships with Australia’s largest retailers. From 2000 to 2002, while based in Europe, Michael led the integration of 3 European banks into GE Capital’s Global Consumer Finance business with primary responsibility for the marketing and commercial strategy for the Scandinavian and Germanic regions.

From 2008 to 2009, Michael also served on the Board of Governors for the American Chamber of Commerce – China, representing 2800+ U.S. Companies doing business in China. Over a five year period he was a spokesperson for the American business community in Beijing and Washington DC. From 2007 to 2011, Michael served as Chairman of GE Finance Company China and from 2007 to 2010, as Chairman of GE Management Technology Consulting – China. During his time as CEO of GE Money China, Michael also led GE’s strategic partnership with a major Chinese bank to launch consumer financial service products. Michael currently serves as Councilman for the City of Westlake, Texas and as a board member on the Westlake Board of Economic Development. He is also a Trustee for the Westlake Academy IB Charter School.

Michael has an MBA from the University of Michigan and a Bachelors of Applied Science Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.

Click here to RSVP or yale-china@yale.edu or 203-432-0884

What are Fireside Chats?

The Fireside Chat series brings speakers to Yale-China to share and discuss issues related to China’s heart and hinterland with the Yale and New Haven communities. All Fireside Chats are free and open to the public.

Unless otherwise noted, all talks begin at 4:00 pm and are held in the Yale-China office, 442 Temple Street, New Haven.

Fireside Chat Videos

Fireside Chat videos can be seen on our YouTube channel.

Questions?

Contact Magdaline Lawhorn or call 203-432-0884.


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap