雅谈系列讲座:徐渭芝博士(Dr. Wai-chi Chee)

Next Event

Tue, January 28, 2014 | 4:00PM-5:30PM
雅谈系列讲座:徐渭芝博士(Dr. Wai-chi Chee)
康乃狄格州纽黑文市Temple街442号

中国香港之跨境家庭

自从2003年香港向内地游客开放个人游,去香港生育成了大陆家长为自己孩子谋求一张香港身份证的途径。至今大约有20万个这样的宝宝在香港出生。家长们的考虑是让孩子有更好的出生环境及将来。对于很多来自农村的家庭,香港身份证不仅意味着孩子可以离开农村进入城市,更预示着将来出国的机会。香港身份证也意味着更好的教育机会,以后更能出人头地。然而,随着这些孩子达到入学年龄,家长们发现自己陷入进退两难的境地:到底是让孩子在大陆就学还是去香港读书?由于没有户口,如果他们要在大陆入学,就要交昂贵的学费去国际学校读书,这往往是这些家庭负担不起的。要是孩子是计划生育之外的,还要缴纳大笔罚款。如果去香港读书,至少得有一个家长陪同照顾起居。因为不是香港居民,家长只能申请短期签证,而且不能在香港工作。这意味着两地分居,和家庭收入大幅下降。综上所述,去香港生孩子的家庭策略本来是为了增加社会流动性,现在反而成了家庭的束缚和灾难之源。本研究考察了这一群来香港陪读的家长(大多是妈妈)的日常生活和做此决定的动机。他们都是背井离乡,和配偶(以及第一个孩子)分居两地,每年只回大陆短暂停留,为了续签证。

徐渭芝博士(Dr. Wai-chi Chee)

Wai-Chi Chee博士拥有香港中文大学人类学博士学位。她的博士论文从民族志学的角度考察并比较香港两大外来青少年群体(分别来自大陆和南亚)的移民和就学经历。她的研究兴趣包括移民、教育、全球化、管理、草根运动、种族划分、文化和身份认同以及青年。她当前的研究项目有寻求香港居留权的人、大陆香港之跨境家庭、少数民族学生在香港的学业表现以及辅导教学和高等教育。

请点击此处登记参加讲座,或致信yaleo-china@yale.edu,或致电203-432-0884。

座谈时间或有变更,请登录www.yalechina.org查询更新情况及更多的炉边雅谈系列。

炉边雅谈系列由深圳市快易典教育科技有限公司赞助。

什么是炉边雅谈?

雅礼协会定期举办炉边雅谈系列讲座,邀请各界嘉宾讨论与中国相关的话题,并与来自耶鲁及纽黑文地区的听众自由问答交流。 炉边雅谈讲座向公众免费开放,欢迎登记参加。 若无特殊声明,所有讲座将于下午四时半在雅礼协会办公室(纽黑文市Temple路442号)举行。

炉边雅谈视频

历次炉边雅谈视频请见雅礼协会的YouTube频道

其他问题

请与罗虹(Magdaline Lawhorn)联系,或致电203-432-0884。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Fireside Chat featuring Wai-Chi Chee

Next Event

Tue, January 28, 2014 | 4:00PM-5:30PM
Fireside Chat featuring Wai-Chi Chee
442 Temple Street
New Haven, CT

China-Hong Kong Cross-Border Families

Since the introduction of Individual Visit Scheme in 2003, giving birth in Hong Kong has opened up a means for mainland parents to secure a Hong Kong identity card (HKID) for their children. About 200,000 such babies have been born in Hong Kong. This decision is understood to be a family effort to enhance both physical and social mobilities of their Hong Kong-born children. For many of these parents who have a rural background, a HKID implies not only rural-urban mobilities but also potential international mobilities. A HKID also means eligibility and access to a better education to achieve social upward mobility. However, as their Hong Kong-born children reach school age, many parents find themselves trapped in a dilemma: Should their children study in mainland China or in Hong Kong? If the children study in mainland China, without a household registration, they are denied public schooling, meaning that parents would need to pay an extremely high international school fee which is often beyond their financial capacities. In the case of births that violate the Chinese state’s one-child policy, the parents face further severe penalty. Should the children study in Hong Kong, at least one parent would have to take care of them. However, without the right of abode in Hong Kong, parents can only travel with short-term visas. And they are not allowed to work in Hong Kong. This suggests that the family is split and the family income sharply decreases. Thus, ironically the family strategies to enhance mobilities have turned into constraints. This ethnographic research explores the everyday lived experiences and decision making of a group of mainland parents (predominantly mothers) who stay in Hong Kong with their Hong Kong-born children, having left their spouses (and first children) behind in China, and returning only briefly for visa renewal.

Dr. Wai-chi Chee

Dr. Wai-chi Chee received her Ph.D. in Anthropology from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Her dissertation ethnographically explores and compares the immigration and schooling experiences of the teenage children of the two largest incoming groups to Hong Kong: from Mainland China and from South Asia. Her research interests include migration, education, globalization, governance, grassroots activism, ethnicity, culture and identity, and youth. Her current research projects include right-of-abode seekers in Hong Kong, Mainland China-Hong Kong cross-border families, the academic achievement of ethnic minority students in Hong Kong, and tutorial schooling and higher education.

Click here to RSVP or yale-china@yale.edu or 203-432-0884

Schedule subject to change. Please check www.yalechina.org for updates and to see a complete list of forthcoming chats.

The Fireside Chat series is sponsored by Shenzhen Koridy Education Technology Limited

What are Fireside Chats?

The Fireside Chat series brings speakers to Yale-China to share and discuss issues related to China’s heart and hinterland with the Yale and New Haven communities. All Fireside Chats are free and open to the public.

Unless otherwise noted, all talks begin at 4:30 pm and are held in the Yale-China office, 442 Temple Street, New Haven.

Fireside Chat Videos

Fireside Chat videos can be seen on our YouTube channel.

Questions?

Contact Magdaline Lawhorn or call 203-432-0884.


© 2012 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple Street | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | Phone: 203-432-0884 | Fax: 203-432-7246 | E-mail: yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap