炉边雅谈系列:Stephen Roach

Next Event

中美的相互依存关系

从二十世纪八十年代起,中美经济就陷入了令人不安的微妙局面。最开始双方本着互惠的原则开始合作,但近年来这一关系渐渐演变成一种互相依存、尔虞我诈但又唇亡齿寒的不稳定状态。世界最大的两个经济实体丧失自我、剑拔弩张的风险越来越大。

耶鲁大学高级研究员、前摩根士丹利亚洲区总裁史蒂芬•罗奇在他的新书《失衡:中美的相互依存关系》(耶鲁大学出版社 2014年1月出版)中罗列了当前中美经济关系的陷阱和机遇。他指出双方当前关系紧张,冲突焦点包括贸易政策与知识产权、领导风格的鲜明反差、互联网的角色、网络黑客问题等。

2008年的金融危机让这两大失衡的经济体都急切地想要重建互惠关系。双方最终下定决心要解决这一日益严重的、不健康的互相依赖关系。Roach认为,未来的中国能为未来的美国提供很多帮助;反之亦然。

STEPHEN S. ROACH

Stephen Roach是耶鲁全球事务研究所高级研究员,耶鲁大学管理学院高级讲师。他曾任摩根士丹利亚洲区总裁兼首席经济学家。他在摩根士丹利工作长达30年,领导一支备受赞誉的全球经济学家团队。
Roach先生现在的教学和研究重点是亚洲对全球经济的影响。他在耶鲁大学为本科生和研究生开设了“中国的未来”、“日本的教训”等新课程, 2014年还将开设新课“中美经济关系”。他的写作和研究还涉及到全球化、贸易政策、经济危机后的政策架构以及全球失衡对资本市场的影响。

Stephen Roach一直是华尔街最具影响力的经济学家之一,不仅在学术杂志发表文章,出版成书,并在国会上被引证,被国内外媒体广泛传播。Roach先生对全球经济的看法促成了中国和美国的政策辩论。 他在2009年出版的《未来的亚洲:新全球化时代的机遇与挑战》(Wiley出版社出版)分析了亚洲经济失衡的状况以及区域过分依赖过度扩张的西方消费者所存在的风险。他的新书《失衡:中美的相互依存关系》(耶鲁大学出版社2014年1月出版)检视了21世纪全球最重要的经济关系带来的风险和机会。 在1982年加入摩根士丹利之前,Roach先生曾在联邦储备委员会从事研究工作,并在布鲁金斯研究所担任过研究员。他拥有纽约大学经济学博士学位。Roach先生目前是美国外交关系委员会、大都会艺术博物馆投资委员会以及威斯康星大学经济顾问委员会成员。 请点击此处登记参加讲座,或致信yaleo-china@yale.edu,或致电203-432-0884。

座谈时间或有变更,请登录www.yalechina.org查询更新情况及更多的炉边雅谈系列。

炉边雅谈系列由深圳市快易典教育科技有限公司赞助。

什么是炉边雅谈?

雅礼协会定期举办炉边雅谈系列讲座,邀请各界嘉宾讨论与中国相关的话题,并与来自耶鲁及纽黑文地区的听众自由问答交流。 炉边雅谈讲座向公众免费开放,欢迎登记参加。

若无特殊声明,所有讲座将于下午四时半在雅礼协会办公室(纽黑文市Temple路442号)举行。

炉边雅谈视频

历次炉边雅谈视频请见雅礼协会的YouTube频道

其他问题

请与罗虹(Magdaline Lawhorn)联系,或致电203-432-0884。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Fireside Chat featuring Stephen Roach

Next Event

Mon, February 24, 2014 | 4:30PM-6:00PM
Fireside Chat featuring Stephen Roach
Office of International Students and Scholars (OISS)
421 Temple Street
New Haven, CT 06511

Codependency of America and China

The Chinese and U.S. economies have been locked in an uncomfortable embrace since the 1980s. Although the relationship initially arose out of mutual benefits, in recent years it has taken on the trappings of an unstable codependence, with the two largest economies in the world at risk of losing their sense of self, increasing the possibility of their turning on one another in a destructive fashion.

In his new book, Unbalanced: The Codependency of America and China (forthcoming Yale University Press January 2014) Stephen Roach, senior fellow at Yale University and former chairman of Morgan Stanley Asia, lays bare the pitfalls and opportunities of the current China-U.S. economic relationship. He highlights the conflicts at the center of current tensions, including disputes over trade policies and intellectual property rights, sharp contrasts in leadership styles, the role of the Internet, the recent dispute over cyberhacking, and more.

In the wake of the 2008 crisis, both unbalanced economies face urgent and mutually beneficial rebalancings. Unbalanced concludes with a recipe for resolving the escalating tensions of codependence. Roach argues that the Next China offers much for the Next America—and vice versa.

STEPHEN S. ROACH

Stephen Roach is a Senior Fellow at Yale University’s Jackson Institute of Global Affairs and a Senior Lecturer at Yale’s School of Management. He was formerly Chairman of Morgan Stanley Asia and the firm’s Chief Economist for the bulk of his 30-year career at Morgan Stanley, heading up a highly regarded team of economists around the world.
Mr. Roach’s current teaching and research program focuses on the impacts of Asia on the broader global economy. At Yale, he has introduced new courses for undergraduates and graduate students on the “The Next China” and “The Lessons of Japan,” and in 2014 will be offering a new course on the U.S.-China economic relationship. His writing and research addresses globalization, trade policy, the post-crisis policy architecture, and the capital markets implications of global imbalances.

Stephen Roach has long been one of Wall Street’s most influential economists. His work has appeared in academic journals, books, congressional testimony and has been disseminated widely in the domestic and international media. Roach’s opinions on the global economy have been known to shape the policy debate from Beijing to Washington. His 2009 book, The Next Asia: Opportunities and Challenges for a New Globalization (Wiley), analyzes Asia’s economic imbalances and the dangers of the region’s excess dependence on overextended Western consumers. His forthcoming book, Unbalanced: The Codependency of America and China (Yale University Press, Jan. 2014) examines the risks and opportunities of what is likely to be the world’s most important economic relationship of the 21st century. Prior to joining Morgan Stanley in 1982, Mr. Roach served on the research staff of the Federal Reserve Board and was also a research fellow at the Brookings Institution. He holds a Ph.D. in economics from New York University. Mr. Roach is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Investment Committee of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Economics Advisory Board of the University of Wisconsin. Click here to RSVP or yale-china@yale.edu or 203-432-0884

Schedule subject to change. Please check www.yalechina.org for updates and to see a complete list of forthcoming chats.

The Fireside Chat series is sponsored by Shenzhen Koridy Education Technology Limited

What are Fireside Chats?

The Fireside Chat series brings speakers to Yale-China to share and discuss issues related to China’s heart and hinterland with the Yale and New Haven communities. All Fireside Chats are free and open to the public.

Unless otherwise noted, all talks begin at 4:30 pm and are held in the Yale-China office, 442 Temple Street, New Haven.

Fireside Chat Videos

Fireside Chat videos can be seen on our YouTube channel.

Questions?

Contact Magdaline Lawhorn or call 203-432-0884.


© 2012 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple Street | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | Phone: 203-432-0884 | Fax: 203-432-7246 | E-mail: yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap