炉边雅谈系列:任碧莲(Gish Jen)与虎式写作

炉边雅谈系列:任碧莲

Thu, May 09, 2013 | 4:30pm Thu, May 09, 2013 - Thu, May 09, 2013
炉边雅谈系列:任碧莲(Gish Jen)与虎式写作
雅礼协会
康乃狄格州纽黑文市Temple街442号
邮编:06511

任碧莲于2009年入选美国艺术和科学院院士,曾获得兰南文学奖小说类奖项和来自古根海姆基金会、拉德克利夫高级研究院和国家艺术基金会的研究资金。

她的作品出现在《纽约客》、《大西洋月刊》等众多期刊和文集里,并收入美国著名作家John Updike编辑的《本世纪美国最佳短篇小说》,美国公共电视网“美国大师及小说”系列节目曾做过专题报道。2003年,美国艺术文学院由John Updike、 Cynthia Ozick、 Don DeLillo、和Joyce Carol Oates组成的评委会授予任碧莲哈罗德和米尔德里德•施特劳斯基金会为期五年的奖金支持。2012年哈佛大学邀请她在美国文明史系的“梅西公民讲座”发言。这些讲演纪录汇集成了Jen的这本新书——也是她的第六本书——《虎之写作:艺术、文化和互相依存的自我》。

点击此处查看炉边雅谈的照片

什么是炉边雅谈?

雅礼协会定期举办炉边雅谈系列讲座,邀请各界嘉宾讨论与中国相关的话题,并与来自耶鲁及纽黑文地区的听众自由问答交流。 炉边雅谈讲座向公众免费开放,欢迎登记参加。

若无特殊声明,所有讲座将于下午四时半在雅礼协会办公室(纽黑文市Temple路442号)举行。

炉边雅谈视频

历次炉边雅谈视频请见雅礼协会的YouTube频道

其他问题

请与Amy Shek联系,或致电203-432-1771。


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Fireside Chat with Gish Jen: Tiger Writing

Fireside Chat with Gish Jen

Thu, May 09, 2013 | 4:30pm Thu, May 09, 2013 - Thu, May 09, 2013
Fireside Chat with Gish Jen: Tiger Writing
Yale-China Association
442 Temple Street
New Haven, CT 06511

Elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2009, Jen is a recipient of the Lannan Literary Award for Fiction, as well as of grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Her work has appeared in the New Yorker, the Atlantic Monthly, and dozens of other periodicals and anthologies, including The Best American Short Stories of the Century, edited by John Updike, and was featured in a PBS American Masters' special on the American novel. In 2003, an American Academy of Arts and Letters jury comprised of John Updike, Cynthia Ozick, Don DeLillo, and Joyce Carol Oates awarded her a five-year Mildred and Harold Strauss Living. In 2012, Harvard University invited her to give the Massey lectures in the History of American Civilization. The author of five books of fiction, Jen has just published her first book of nonfiction, based on those lectures. This is entitled Tiger Writing: Art, Culture, and the Interdependent Self.

View the Fireside Chat photos here.

What are Fireside Chats?

The Fireside Chat series brings speakers to Yale-China to share and discuss issues related to China’s heart and hinterland with the Yale and New Haven communities. All Fireside Chats are free and open to the public.

Unless otherwise noted, all talks begin at 4:30 pm and are held in the Yale-China office, 442 Temple Street, New Haven.

Fireside Chat Videos

Fireside Chat videos can be seen on our YouTube channel.

Questions?

Contact Amy Shek or call 203-432-1771.


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap