艺术展览系列

Ali Van: 《残余》

2010年,雅礼协会举办了名为“残余” 的Ali Van新作展。这次展览是Van女士的首个美国个展。Van女士是一位纽约艺术家,2008年毕业于耶鲁大学。2010年4月22日,开幕招待会于下午五点到七点举行。这次展览的展出时间一直持续到2010年6月6日。

Ali Van乐于沉思,以历史和时空残余来深入钻研表述过程,其中,时间和空间的残余记载于行动和再次行动之中。她的作品通过食物、垃圾、尘土、身体来进行表达。Van女士对于颓废美(beaten beauty)的内在喜悦深感兴趣;它由遗忘的行动和分配的粮食组成,深入探究了一种独特审美趣味与趋势的可能性。她的作品具有一种形式上的模棱两可,还带着一种经验与结果之间的困惑混乱。她深入探究了经验的、已决的、和有目的的事物彼此冲突时的同步界限。她在其艺术家自述中有如下一段:


Ali Van

行动和再次行动;

都是美丽和丑陋的触觉延伸。

残缺的认知结构,

限制着自然与认为的发生。

矫饰的审美化,

直面那不再强烈的、去探入肚脐深处的冲动。

点击这里 访问Ail Van的个人网站。



Ali Van生于纽约,长在香港,之后回到美国进入耶鲁大学学习。她现在在纽约市工作、生活。在艺术事业之外,Van女士还为亚洲艺术文献库-美国分部(AAA-A)工作,这是总部位于香港的亚洲艺术文献库在海外的第一个小型总部。AAA-A收藏、保存当代亚洲艺术,使它们更接近大众、更易于研究与理解。同时,AAA-A还通过一系列教育项目发起关于当代亚洲艺术的对话与批判性思考。

《残余》是雅礼协会在其总部Temple街442号进行的一系列展览中的第一个。

其他艺术相册

飘洋过海的中国遗珍

画家Michael Sloan

Foothills Photography Exhibit


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap

Art Exhibit Series

Ali Van "Residues"

In 2010, the Yale-China Association presented the exhibit "Residues: Recent works by Ali Van." The exhibit marked the first U.S.-based solo show for Ms. Van, a New York artist who graduated from Yale in 2008. An opening night reception was held on April 22, 2010 from 5:00 to 7:00PM. The exhibit ran through June 6th 2010.

Ali Van works with compulsive contemplative interests, delving into performative processes with histories and residues of time and space recorded through action and reenactment. Her work is mediated by food, dirt and dust as well as the body. Ms. Van is interested in the internal rapture of a beaten beauty; one made of forgotten movement, dispensed foodstuffs, and one that explores the possibility of a unique aesthetic taste and tendency. Her work engages with formal ambiguities and the perplexities between experience and product. She explores the simultaneous boundaries between experienced, resolved and purposive conflict. A portion of her artist’s statement reads:

Ali Van

Actions and reenactments,
As haptic extensions of beauty and non-beauty.
Blemished cognitive structures,
Binding residues of natural and artificial happenings.
Cosmetic aestheticizations,
Confronting diluted compulsions of umbilical exploration.

»Please click here to visit Ali Van's website.

Ali Van was born in New York and grew up in Hong Kong before returning to the US to study at Yale. She now lives and works in New York City. Alongside her artistic practice, Ms. Van works for the Asia Art Archive in America (AAA-A), the first overseas mini-hub of Asia Art Archive in Hong Kong. AAA-A seeks to collect, preserve and make information on contemporary art from and of Asia easily accessible, to facilitate research and understanding, and to instigate dialogue and critical thinking through a regular initiation of educational programs.

Residues marked the inauguration of a series of exhibits Yale-China hosted at its offices on 442 Temple Street.

Other Arts Slideshows

Precious Driftwood

Michael Sloan

Foothills Photography Exhibit


© 2012-2017 Yale-China Association | 442 Temple St | Box 208223 | New Haven, CT 06520 | 203-432-0884 (t) | 203-432-7246 (f) | yale-china@yale.edu | Sitemap